Abstract: Mini Suffering State Examination

IVth European Congress of Gerontology, Berlin, Germany, 1999
Gerontologie und Geriatrie 1999; 32:238

B.Z. Aminoff, MD, PhD

The Chaim Sheba Medical Center, Tel Hashomer and
Pardes Katz Geriatric Hospital, Israel
The level of suffering in a patient with end-stage dementia can be diagnosed objectively by means of a (MSSE) consisting of 10 questions
Suffering State: YES – 1 NO – 0

1 Not calm
2 Screams
3 Pain
4 Decubitus ulcers
5 Malnutrition
6 Eating disorders
7 Invasive action
8 Unstable medical condition
9 Suffering according to medical opinion
10 Suffering according to family opinion
MSSE score
The MSSE Score Interpretation:
Low level of suffering 0-3
Intermediate level of suffering 4-6
High level of suffering 7-10
A high MSSE score indicates a high level of suffering. The MSSE can be used as a diagnostic tool in the treatment and prevention of suffering in a patient with end-stage dementia. The well-being of an end-stage dementia patient is in inverse proportion to his level of suffering. The end-stage dementia patient with a low MSSE score has a good quality of life.